Febrero

Finally…a post with pictures and videos. Here’s just a general update about what us BA-ers have been up to.

February has been quite an eventful month. Knowing how big Valentine’s Day is in America…we decided to go all out for the Day of Love in a country that doesn’t care about it at all. So…we had a formal at the Casa. For the big day, we prepped ourselves with a little competition…who could ask their date in the most creative way. People made scavenger hunts, spontaneously broke out into song, prepared love-filled desserts, and found any creative way to spell out “formal?”. Here’s what I did to ask MY date…Micah.

Rockin the Photobooth at the formal.

Party-planning committee.

The event was definitely my favorite event at the Casa in the entire year so far. Hilarious games led by Molly and Hayley including the Dating Game and the Newlywed Game, huge participation by everyone, great food by Wurdeman, Kacie, Melissa, and Ben, and awesome entertainment by Sharon, Cody, Kace, and Kubota. I know…lots of names, but that’s only a fraction of the people who were involved in this thing. It was…so…cool.

...and we got DOWN at the end.

Then it was my birthday. Thank you everyone for the birthday wishes. I’m never really big on birthdays…but let’s just say the attention would have been way too much for me handle for more than a day. And thanks for the Facebook album, Cristina.

Yummy.

Then came Adulam Round 2. To remind you…Adulam is a small community outside of Buenos Aires that Pepperdine has helped establish and continuously volunteers there. We have many opportunities to go to Adulam to help with construction projects, gardening, and playing with many of the orphaned children who live there. If you forgot…here’s a video from last semester to remind you:

Flashback to last semester.

So we went to Adulam again this past Saturday and loved them.

Strong men moving heavy metal.

Pablito.

Now you might be thinking, “Wait, David…February isn’t over yet. What could you possibly be doing for the rest of the month? Especially since it’s been so exciting already.” Good question, my friend. We have a long weekend that actually begins tomorrow…5 free days to do whatever we want. Being all traveled out, with no more money, nowhere else to travel to, and a desire to do something bigger than myself…I’m going back to Adulam to help them and get to know the people and kids there for five days. I’m sure it will be a magical time…learning of people’s histories as ex-druglords and alcoholics to their salvation through a Christian community like Adulam. I’m excited to play with and love the kids there. And I’m ready to eat almost no food and just help them with whatever projects they have going on. Not gonna lie…I was very hesitant about committing five days to stay in a community like this and not knowing much about what I’ll be doing, but I’ve forced myself to do it and I’m relying on God to really open up opportunities for me to be a light to others. And, of course (as all community service events end up), I’ll probably get more out of the experience than the people I’ll be helping. It’s weird how that works out…

Lakers, baby.

About David Chang

8 months in South America.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Febrero

  1. Brian Chang says:

    dude, your video is ridiculous. kinda like your haircut.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.